Committee structure

How the Council works

Crawley’s 36 Councillors, meeting together as the Full Council, are responsible for making decisions on the most important issues like deciding the overall policies and setting the borough council element of the Council Tax.

The Council has a Cabinet which works in a similar way to the Government’s Cabinet. The Cabinet is responsible for most of the day-to-day decisions affecting Council services. It is made up of six Councillors who each hold a special portfolio of responsibility.


Decisions in more specialised areas are taken at committees like Audit Committees, Planning Committee, and Licensing Committee.


There is also an Overview and Scrutiny Commission which looks into matters of local concern and makes recommendations to the Cabinet and Full Council on the budget, policy and service delivery. The Commission does not have decision making powers itself.


View the Council’s Committee Structure.


Crawley Borough Council has a constitution which outlines how the Council operates, how decisions are made and the procedures to be followed to ensure that these are efficient, transparent and accountable to local people.

Cabinet (Executive)